Posted by : Sandeep October 14, 2015

9 colors of 9 days of Navratri

Navratri's Nine Colours And Their Significance

  Navratri a nine days festival of worshiping Goddess Durga and her nine incarnations. Navratri is a combination of two words 'Nav' and 'Ratri' which literally means 'Nine Nights'. 

 Now the Navratri begins this year from October 17, 2020 and everyone is getting busy with purchasing the best combinations of colors to immersed in festival fever and pandal hopping for Garba and Dandiya with family and friends by following the Government issued SOPs. If you are planning to head to visit your desired Pandal or place and want to be a part of celebration then go ahead with on time and affordable car rental services in your city.

This year, Navratri celebration won't be the same because of the COVID-19 pandemic. There will be a smaller celebrations yet the spirit shall remain the same. People are looking out on traditional way of celebrating festivals.

During this festival mostly devotees are excited to wear nine different colours of dress which signify that particular form of the deity on each day of the festival.  Here is the list of nine different colours that are supposed to wear on different days of Navratri. 

 Day First: Gray colour   

First day of Navratri is called as 'Ghatasthapana'. The day is dedicated to Goddess Shailaputri and the colour to wear on the first day for devotees is "Gray"

Day Second: Orange colour

Second day of Navratri is called as Dwitiya and on this day 'Goddess Brahmachari' is worshipped. the colour to wear on the second day for devotees is "Orange"

Day Third: White colour
Third day of Navratri or Tritiya is dedicated to 'Devi Chandraghanta' she symbolizes spirituality and meditation and the colour to wear on this day for devotees is "White"

Day Fourth: Red colour   

On the fourth day, the crator of the universe 'Godess Kushmanda' is worshipped. The colour to wear on this day is "Red". 

Day Fifth: Royal Blue colour  

'Goddess Skandamata' is worshipped on the fifth day of Navratri. The colour to wear on forth day of navratri is "Royal Blue"

Day Sixth: Yellow colour  

Goddess Katyayani the sixth incarnations of Devi Durga, worshipped on the seventh day of Navrartri and "Yellow" is the customary colour of the eighth day of Navaratri.  

 Day Seventh: Green colour 

'Goddess Kaalratri' seventh incarnations of Godess Durga is worshiped on this day of Navratri and the colour to wear on is "Green

 Day Eight: Purple colour 

Goddess of kindness and morality known as 'Devi Maha Gauri' is worshipped on the Eighth day of Navratri and "Purple" color to be worn on the day.

 Day Nine: Peacock green colour 

Goddess of supernatural power 'Devi Siddhidatri' is worshipped on the Ninth day of Navratri and the colour to wear on the first day for devotees is "Peacock green".

- Copyright © Clear Car Rental Official Blog-